top of page

What Freedom Means To Me


market of clay pots

About the Author, Age 12

Vanshika Goel


I am 13 year old girl studying in the 7th grade. I love to get my thoughts on paper and share them with the world! Other than writing my heart out, I enjoy music and art. Some day, I hope  to write and publish my very own bestselling story!

 

To me,  freedom is the liberty of making my own decisions, my own choices, and leading my life with only my choices driving me forward. Freedom is tearing down the boundaries that currently surround me and greeting my life with open hands. However, we all are enclosed with some sort of prison and enclosure that prevents us from truly cherishing the life we lead. Personally I have felt imprisoned in several ways, as a student and a person. Often as a person I wish to be free from judgement and criticism. I often feel as if I live under a microscope with people watching, constantly assessing and drawing conclusions from each step I take. From a student’s perspective, I feel imprisoned by pressure of tests and feel lost in all the information floating around in my head. I firmly believe that we should have more freedom from rules and regulations in school and only be tested on subjects of our utmost interest. All in all, life is a journey. It is a path. This path is built by us, crafted bit by bit, step by step, from each choice and decision we make. Since this path is our road to the future, it is vital that every choice we make is made by untied hands; by utmost freedom of choices. To me, freedom can be found within, but it is up to us to discover it.


Antara pic1.jpeg

"We write to taste life twice, in the moment and in retrospect” - Anais Nin

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page