top of page

My 3 Wishes To A Genie


market of clay pots

About the Author, Vedaa Choradia

Age 12, Student, Writer & Art Enthusiast


As an inquisitive 12 year old, Vedaa Choradia has an innate passion for writing - for when things cannot be put into words. This led her to create an art blog called 'Peach Puff; where she promotes art and benefits of art as healing. Her goal is to become a compassionate, considerate and empathetic young citizen, being a part of a global community. She hopes to take people through her experiences that can only be conveyed as writing fro self expression. Her friends would describe her as a crazy, creative and book loving person.

Blog Website: peachpuff.weebly.com

 

I type and I erase, I type and I erase. I know I have to speak my mind, but something is pulling me back. Ok! I speak to you with the truth and only the truth! Life to me has not been a walk in the park, nor has it been a trip to wonderland. There are times in life when I CAN'T pick myself up, dust off whatever happened and move on. There are times in life when I say to myself, 'STOP! THERE IS NO POINT, PEOPLE WILL ALWAYS PUT YOU DOWN!' There are times in life when I feel like giving up, when I can't get everything together, and when I am a complete wreck, but, here is what I learnt: IT'S OK! I learnt to take life as a medium to experience, find my purpose, create meaningful relationships, and fulfill my dreams and goals. As a little girl, I always thought that genie would come on over and help me do exactly that. I mean, I never wished for fancy cars or a million dollar condo, or a ticket to Broadway, just to be the person I have always dreamt of, so, I decided to share my three wishes with you: Wish no. 1

My first wish is an insight into a personality deeply embedded in me, just trapped by a mere armour, an armour that has suppressed my true traits and passions inside - the courage to stand up for myself. My confidence and self-esteem is high on the exterior, but inside, very few people know that I question everything I ever said, everything I ever thought and everything I ever did again and again, and when this happens, standing up for myself makes me feel insecure. Just because I doubt my values and opinions repeatedly. All this while, I have mentally internalized everything that people have said to me, but I wish that I develop the courage to learn to say no and to defend myself to all lengths. I wish to develop the courage to walk away, and instead of putting the blame on me, and criticizing myself, learn the virtues of self love and self-respect when these scenarios take place, but something happens! Let me share with you an instance - I had a very close friend, and we used to share all our secrets, and basically knew everything about each other, but one day, she shut me out. She spoke to me in a certain manner, and as the days went by, we grew apart. At this moment, I wish! I wish I could have defended myself, stood up for what I believed in, and BEEN ME. Not somebody, she wanted me to be. Wish no. 2

I think after this happened, it was a wake up call, more of a realization. Of course, I felt sad, angry, betrayed, but I knew that after a big tub of ice cream, I needed to move on. I needed to forgive, and I think I realized that there were greater things awaiting me, and this incident was just a byproduct to make me stronger, and ready for what life was going to throw at me. I realized it was nothing more than a passing cloud, and there was no reason for me to dwell upon it. I understood how important it is to let go of grudges, to not replay the situation in my head again and again, and let me tell you, once I forgave the person, a sense of relief passed through my body, and I was on top of the world! But moving on was not only in this aspect, I think there are often times when I feel like opening new chapters but I just can't. There are memories pulling me from something I want to get out of, happy memories! I remember when I shifted schools, the first few weeks were so difficult, it still is. Of course, the atmosphere was so warm, but it felt like a magnetic pull. I had so many things ahead of me, but I was leaving quite a few things behind- I was a bag of mixed emotions. So, from this experience, I gathered my second wish - my ability to move on easily. I feel that choices are the most important, and the choice to live and let live is a huge accomplishment in itself, to be the bigger person.  Wish no. 3

My third wish is the reason why we live, breathe, think and come to conclusions - to find our purpose. Purpose of our being, why god, a higher power and an energy, intended for us to be, and how we play a role in making the world a better place to live in. To me, finding my purpose is like a map, one clue leads to the other, but it is only when you go searching for 'purpose' that things fall into place. Purpose of change - change in thought processes, change in societal norms, change in ideas and beliefs, but more than that, change in mankind with the values that we generate and take forward.


Antara pic1.jpeg

"We write to taste life twice, in the moment and in retrospect” - Anais Nin

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page