top of page

The World Forced Us To Slow Down


market of clay pots

I know what many of you must be thinking reading this quote "There are other ways to learn how to live right side up! Why does a world shattered by an infectious disease need to be the time to learn life lessons?"


There is nothing good about this chilling disease that has killed many and brought panic and fear into hearts and homes. Well, isn't it always during our most painful times that epiphanies occur? 


Those who know me well, know that I am the sort of person to thrive most with work and social contact. On days where I miss out on either one of these, I feel incomplete and lost. Ever since the world as we know it has been thrown into complete disarray, many aspects of our daily lives have been snatched away from us leaving very little to almost no time to adjust. Rules have been enforced taking into account our well-being and measures taken to ensure that we emerge on the other side of this pandemic, successfully. We have been thrown into the 'new normal' that varies for each family, which will once again evolve during the post-viral stage.


On a deeper level, this has forced us all to slow down and hit the pause button on our busy and sometimes surreal lives. It has pushed us to fall into new patterns. This chilling disease has forcibly thrust us towards embracing change. 


Without the constant juggling of article deadlines, back to back meetings, play dates, school/class drop-offs and pick-ups, I know it will take me some time to stop feeling like I am in a Twilight Zone. I know many of you feel the same as well; as a close friend of mine said today - "I feel like we are in  the middle of a Zombie apocalypse!"


I have been feeling an overwhelming sense of gratitude the last few days, watching both my boys pretend play, argue and fight. Considering that many are wondering how to feed their families right now, being at home and available to give my kids baths has been a privilege for me. Implementing their daily class schedules at home has been eye-opening! Needless to say my respect for teachers has grown multi-fold and I think they are angels in disguise.  


I can guarantee that once we see the light at the end of the Corona Virus tunnel and life starts to get back on track, most of us will go rushing back to our pre-viral routines or to one  that closely resembles it with fierce determination. But I hope we remember - to slow down, remain calm and let life happen. Take a deep breath and focus on the simple things. Keep in mind that we are alive and breathing. Remember that we are enough. 


Antara pic1.jpeg

"We write to taste life twice, in the moment and in retrospect” - Anais Nin

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page